The NCC Board

The Executive Order 44 (s 2011) determined the composition of the NCC Board, which shall be chaired by the Secretary of Trade and Industry and co-chaired by a representative from the private sector. The members shall include the Secretaries of Finance (DoF), Energy (DoE), Tourism (DoT), Education (DepEd), and Director General of Natioonal Economic Development Authority (NEDA) from public sector, and five (5) representatives from the private sector. The private sector co-chair and private sector members are appointed by the President for a term of two years, and may be reappointed for another term. 

Working Groups

The working groups under the NCC serve as a venue for discussion and collaboration between the public and private sectors, in which critical issues are thoroughly tackled and policy recommendations are formulated. The following working groups were established after identifying critical areas that are needed to be addressed and deemed important to the enhancement of Philippine competitiveness:

  • Anti-Corruption
  • Anti-Smuggling (formerly Agri-Trade Logistics)
  • Business Permits and Licensing System
  • Education and Human Resources Development
  • ICT Governance
  • National Quality Infrastructure
  • Performance Governance System
  • Power and Energy
  • Transport, Infrastructure, Trade and Logistics (formerly Infrastructure)

Past Working Groups

  • Budget Transparency
  • National Single Window
  • Judicial System

Each area is handled by a Working Group with members coming from the public and private sectors, including government agencies and offices involved in the priority projects, as well as foreign and local chambers of commerce and various industry associations.



 As an attached council to the DTI, the day-to-day operations of NCC is administered by the Competitiveness Bureau, the Director acting as the Public Sector Director for Operations and a representative from private sector as a counterpart.